REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING June 18, 2025

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on June 18, 2025 in the conference room at the high school at 7:00AM. Board members present: Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Andrew Sorum, Greg Larson, and Staci Allmaras.

Board Members Absent: None

Student Representatives present: Ikraan Mohamed

Student Representatives absent: Maclain Hovland

Others Present: Brian Korf, Rudy Martinez, Emily Evenson, Derrick Nelson, Cary Haugrud, PJ Breen, and Heidi Isaman, John Gullingsrud, and Trevor Steeves.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00AM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Greg Larson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Acknowledgements

2025 Valedictorians: Willem Pesch, Anna Roisum, Brody Syverson, and Mariah Weishair; Salutatorian: Daisy Holl Activity Workers from the 2024-25 School Year Substitutes from the 2024-25 School Year Spring All-State Athletes

Softball Academic All-State - Silver

Track Academic All-State: Grace Backstrom, Ellie Carlson, Aiden Checco de Souza, Andrew Checco de Souze, Edwin Escobar, Megan Guler, Hazel Haugrud, Ari Hovland, Ethan Isaman, Morgan Korf, Brody Syverson, Jack Welch

All-State: Aiden Checco de Souza

Team Academic All-State Boys and Girls - Gold

Reports

Α. Β.

LTFM Mr. Rudy Martinez and Mr. Trevor Steeves **MN Leave Benefits** Mrs. Emily Evenson

Administrative Reports

- Α. Elementary Principal
- **Finance Director** Β.
- C. Superintendent

- Mr. Derrick Nelson
- Mr. Rudy Martinez Mr. Brian Korf

Andrew Sorum moved to approve the consent items consisting of the following items:

- Α. Approve board minutes - May 19, 2025 Regular School Board Meeting
 - B. Financial claims - April & May bills
 - C. Treasurer's reports for April & May
 - D. Personnel

Acknowledge the resignation of Hayden Sturdevant as Social Studies Teacher at PRHS Acknowledge the resignation of Hayden Sturdevant as Assistant Football Coach at PRHS Acknowledge the resignation of Carlos Gutierrez as Assistant Wrestling Coach at PRHS Acknowledge the resignation of Annissa Berg as Special Education Paraprofessional at VES Acknowledge the resignation of Cody Shaffer as English Teacher at PRHS Acknowledge the resignation of Cody Shaffer as Head Boys Track Coach at PRHS Acknowledge the resignation of Cody Shaffer as Assistant Girls' Basketball Coach at PRHS Approve the hire of the following summer staff:

Club Vikes: Zayli Arrow, Brenna Davis, Alissa Eppard, Maria Poblano, Antonia Banton, Cullen Hovland, Grady Larson

Custodial: Marty Carlson, Terra Fitzsimmons, Todd Huseby, Jenna Nava Pixley, Hailey Peasley, Dave Shulstad, Mitch VerDorn, Connie Wifall, Carson Weiers

Kitchen: Lizzie Brendemuhl, Teena Jessen, Ashlee Olson

Summer Rec: Zayla Arrow, Ean Bakken, Chelsey Blakeway, Karla Breen, David Dewey, Brendan Hanson, Emma Hanson, Hunter Hanson, Amber Henegar, Drew Holt, Dezmond Lehr, Jan Erik Lindberg, Parker Lipp, Makayla Moen, Hannah Nelson, Naomi Peter, Phoebe Peter, Linea Thomas, Miren Thomas, Madison Viger, Tristan Wald

E. Approve the Audit Engagement Letter with EideBailly for the 2024-2025 Audit The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Andrew Sorum, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Molly Welch, Staci Allmaras, and Greg Larson The following voted against: None

Greg Larson introduced the Resolution Accepting Donations. RESOLUTION ACCEPTING DONATIONS

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes 123B.02, Subd. 6 provides: "The board may receive, for the benefit of the district, bequests, donations, or gifts for any proper purpose and apply the same to the purpose designated. In that behalf, the board may act as trustee of any trust created for the benefit of the district, or for the benefit of pupils thereof, including trusts created to provide pupils of the district with advanced education after completion of high school, in the advancement of education."; and

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes 465.03 provides: "Any city, county, school district or town may accept a grant or devise of real or personal property and maintain such property for the benefit of its citizens in accordance with the terms prescribed by the donor. Nothing herein shall authorize such acceptance or use for religious or sectarian purposes. Every such acceptance shall be by resolution of the governing body adopted by a two-thirds majority of its members, expressing such terms in full."; and

WHEREAS, every such acceptance shall be by resolution of the governing body adopted by a two-thirds majority of its members, expressing such terms in full;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the School Board of Pelican Rapids Public Schools, ISD 548, gratefully accepts the following donations as identified below:

Donor	ltem	Designated Purpose (if any)
Laura Klimek	\$100	Student Accounts
Laura Klimek	\$100	Viking Butikk
Kathy Bergren	\$20	PRHS Scholarship Fund in memory of Tammy Rostad
Lisa Petznick	\$20	PRHS Scholarship Fund in memory of Paul Sturdevant
MVM Contracting, Inc.	\$1000	PRHS Softball Team

The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Andrew Sorum, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Molly Welch, Staci Allmaras, and Greg Larson

The following voted against: None

Whereupon, said Resolution was declared duly adopted.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the 2027 Fiscal Year Long-Term Facilities Maintenance Plan. The motion was seconded by Andrew Sorum and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Greg Larson, Staci Allmaras, Molly Welch, Jon Karger, Brenda Olson, and Andrew Sorum The following voted against: None

Andrew Sorum made a motion to approve the 2025-26 Fiscal Year Proposed Budget. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Andrew Sorum, Brenda Olson, Molly Welch, Jon Karger, Staci Allmaras, and Greg Larson. The following voted against: none

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the 2025-26 School Board Meeting Schedule. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Andrew Sorum, Brenda Olson, Molly Welch, Jon Karger, Staci Allmaras, and Greg Larson.

The following voted against: none

Andrew Sorum made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Board Chair

Board Clerk